Clarke and his Phantom PR22 spooked his opposition with a stunning display at the Welsh circuit to win all four races and set a new series lap record at the venue in the process.

Added to three wins he had already snared earlier in the season, these latest triumphs have sent Clarke rising up 26 places in the winners' table.

He has reduced Mazda MX-5 ace Aidan Hills' advantage at the top to two victories and Clarke is only the second driver to score seven or more wins so far this year.

But there are a host of other contenders creeping up on Hills, including Radical Cup UK star James Lay.

He impressively won all three races as the category made its first appearance on the British Touring Car support bill at Snetterton, meaning the reigning SR3 champion jumps 30 positions and into fourth.

Another driver to enjoy a successful Snetterton was local racer Dan Zelos, who claimed two more Mini Challenge victories to take his current total to five and enable him to rise 31 spots to seventh.

Lovell has moved up 39 places to rank 10th

Photo by: Gary Hawkins

Elsewhere, Lewis Thompson maintained his undefeated record in the Caterham Seven UK Championship at Croft with a hat-trick of wins to shoot from outside the top 50 last week straight into ninth place.

That is one position higher than Jonathan Lovell, who was another driver to enjoy MotorSport Vision Racing's Welsh visit as he picked up two Porsche Boxster Cup victories to improve by 39 places.

Revolution pilot Jonathan Mitchell jumps from 30th to 11th with Zeo Prototype Series success at Silverstone, while Radical SR1 ace Theo Micouris (12th), Brands Hatch Hot Hatch dominator Ryan Polley (13th) and BTCC conqueror Ash Sutton (16th) also enter the top 50 of the rankings this week.

Autosport's most successful national racers so far in 2023

PosDriver (Car)Overall winsClass winsTotal
1Aidan Hills (Mazda MX-5 Mk3)909
2James Clarke (Phantom PR22)707
3Steve Foden (Mazda MX-5 Mk1)606
4James Lay (Radical SR3)606
5Elliot Lettis (Peugeot 107)505
6Jason West (BMW M3 E46)505
7Dan Zelos (Mini F56 JCW)505
8Freddie Slater (Ginetta G40 Junior)505
9Lewis Thompson (Caterham 7 420R)505
10Jonathan Lovell (Porsche Boxster S)505
11Jonathan Mitchell (Caterham 7 420R/Revolution 500SC)415
12Theo Micouris (Radical SR1)055
13Ryan Polley (Honda Civic Type R)404
14Steve Hewson (Porsche Cayman)404
15Michael Gibbins (MCR S2n)404
16Ash Sutton (Ford Focus ST)404
17Colin Turkington (BMW M3 E36 Evo/BMW M3 E30/BMW 330e M Sport)404
18Felix Fisher (Ray GR05)404
19Stephen Berry (Mini Cooper S)404
20Stephen Watkins (MG Midget)404
21=Neil Fowler (MGB GTV8)404
21=Jonathan Lisseter (Locost Ma7da)404
23Lucas Romanek (Van Diemen JL13)404
24Andy Southcott (MG Midget Lenham)404
25Luke Reade (Ginetta G56 GT4)404
26John Village (Village V2)404
27Jackie Cochrane (Sunbeam Tiger)404
28Chris Beighton (Sunbeam Tiger/Lola T70 Mk3B)314
29Tim Bentley (Renault Clio 182)224
30Mark Smith (BMW M3 E36 Evo/BMW M3 E30)224
31Ben Mulryan (Ford Fiesta Zetec S Mk7)224
32Graham Moore (GMS Fireblade)224
33Ian Boulton (MG ZR)134
34Neil Jessop (Ford Escort Mk2 Zakspeed)044
35Paul Simpson (Porsche Boxster S)044
36=Scott Parkin (Volkswagen Golf TDI/Audi TTCR)044
36=Tom Wood (Radical SR1)044
38Olly Samways (Mighty Mini)044
39Mathieu Gauthier-Thornton (Phantom P94)044
40Colin Peach (Van Diemen RFS02)044
41Alastair Kellett (Ford Fiesta ST240)303
42Lars Alexander Hoffmann (Caterham 7 310R)303
43Joe Jessup (Honda Civic Type R)303
44Axel van Nederveen (Ginetta G56 GTA)303
45Ben Timmons (Caterham 7 Roadsport)303
46=Stuart Waite (BMW M3 E36)303
46=Shaun Traynor (Toyota MR2 Roadster)303
48=Matty Cobb (Volkswagen Beetle)303
48=Jack Sales (Caterham 7 310R)303
50Louis Woodward (BMW 120i E82)303

All car races in UK and Ireland are included except qualification/repechage, consolation and handicap races. No races in other countries. 

Class wins are only counted when there are at least six starters in the class. Only classes divided by car characteristics are included. Classes divided by driver characteristics such as ability, professional status, age, experience (for example rookie or Pro-Am classes) are not included.

Where there is a tie, overall wins take precedence. Where there is still a tie, average grid size for a driver’s wins determines the order.

2023-05-25T11:39:49Z dg43tfdfdgfd