Big-hitting batter Daryl Mitchell is the only Blackcaps player named in the World Cup tournament team, as judges overlook the emergence of teammate Rachin Ravindra in the all-star selection.

Mitchell emerged as the fifth-highest scorer for the event, compiling 552 runs at an average of 69.00, including centuries in both group-play and semi-final defeats to India. He ranked eighth for fours hit (48) and fifth in sixes (22).

His selection seemingly comes at a cost to Ravindra, who surpassed cricketing god Sachin Tendulkar for the most runs scored at a World Cup by a player aged under 25.

Promoted to the top order during the injury absence of captain Kane Williamson, Ravindra, 24, actually scored more runs than Mitchell, fourth overall with 578, with a slightly inferior average of 64.22, but including three centuries.

"The way Rachin's played, where a few people had heard about him, and he got a score in the first game against England... he's gone from here to here, very, very quickly," former Blackcaps coach Mike Hesson told Newshub.

Six players from finalists India and two from champions Australia were selected in the tournament announced by the International Cricket Council (ICC).

Leading runscorer Virat Kohli (765) was named player of the tournament, while captain Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul, Ravindra Jadeja, Jasprit Bumrah and top wicket-taker Mohammed Shami were all included in the team.

All-rounder Glenn Maxwell and spinner Adam Zampa were also selected in the line-up, after helping Australia win a record-extending sixth title with a six-wicket victory.

Maxwell scored a double century against Afghanistan and a 40-ball 100 against the Netherlands earlier in the event.

The selection panel included West Indies great Ian Bishop, former Australia batter Shane Watson and ICC General Manager Wasim Khan, among others.

Team of the Tournament:

1. Quinton de Kock (wk) (South Africa)

2. Rohit Sharma (c) (India)

3. Virat Kohli (India)

4. Daryl Mitchell (New Zealand)

5. KL Rahul (India)

6. Glenn Maxwell (Australia)

7. Ravindra Jadeja (India)

8. Jasprit Bumrah (India)

9. Dilshan Madushanka (Sri Lanka)

10. Adam Zampa (Australia)

11. Mohammed Shami (India)

12th player: Gerald Coetzee (South Africa)


2023-11-20T17:39:52Z dg43tfdfdgfd